Where Are They Now?

August 19, 2021 |

Students across Texas are getting ready to head back to school — and so are these first-year teachers. Over 50 Charles Butt Scholar Alumni are anxiously waiting to launch their teaching careers this month. During a time when schools across the state have been facing teacher shortages and an evolving public health crisis, these well-prepared and exceptional educators are invaluable additions to their school communities.

After nearly four years since its inception, the Charles Butt Scholarship for Aspiring Teachers has had over 450 recipients, and 160 of them are now teaching in classrooms across the state. Check out the recently graduated scholars stepping in front of the classroom this year.

Congrats to the Following New Teachers

  • Delanie Atkinson – Clifton ISD
  • Veronica Behr – Austin ISD
  • Bethany Belote – Bryan ISD
  • Claire Bernacki – San Antonio ISD
  • Madison Carolin – Northside ISD
  • Victoria Carr – North East ISD
  • Edith Castillo – Dallas ISD
  • Nohemi Cepeda – Austin ISD
  • Angel De La Rosa – Houston ISD
  • Marie Douge – Houston ISD
  • Jessica Ebert – Round Rock ISD
  • Jacqueline Elizondo – Pharr-San Juan-Alamo ISD
  • Kaleigh Evans – College Station ISD
  • Lindsey Farley – Fort Worth ISD
  • Ismat Fatima – Pflugerville ISD
  • Trey Fisher – Austin ISD
  • Meghan French – Eanes ISD
  • Lorena Gantiva – Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
  • Imelda Gonzalez – Dallas ISD
  • Kimberly Guerra – Northside ISD
  • Sarai Guzman – Del Valle ISD
  • Ashley Hernandez – San Antonio ISD
  • Jacqueline Hoang – Clear Creek ISD
  • Kayleigh Holub – Lamar CISD
  • Isabella Ibrahim – Lubbock ISD
  • Esther Lacayo – Houston ISD
  • Carolina Leija – Dallas ISD
  • Katrina Lieberman – Judson ISD
  • Makayla Mabra – Frisco ISD
  • Dezarae Mata – San Antonio ISD
  • Grace Matson – Killeen ISD
  • Morven McKay – Lubbock-Cooper ISD
  • Samantha Mosqueda – Houston ISD
  • Jose Neri – San Antonio ISD
  • Shealsy Nolasco – YES Prep Public Schools
  • Sarah Orange – Bryan ISD
  • Scout Paterson – Medina Valley ISD
  • David Pierce – Lubbock ISD
  • Cristina Puente – Austin ISD
  • Addie Ralph – Round Rock ISD
  • Andy Salinas – Spring Branch ISD
  • Brenda Sanchez – Houston ISD
  • Avery Seago – Katy ISD
  • C’Sherica Shaw – IDEA Public Schools
  • Christen Smajstrla – Houston ISD
  • Cynthia Vaca – Channelview ISD
  • Orlandria Wilson – Fort Bend ISD

As a Texas teacher, I hope to uphold the legacy that Texas educators have paved, this includes ensuring that I am providing a classroom where all students can learn and thrive in. I strongly believe Texas educators have the opportunity to help shape the future, and this begins in the classrooms.”

- Jose Neri
San Antonio ISD

I hope to be the teacher my students never forget. The one they always knew loved them and who inspired their love of learning!”

- Delanie Atkinson
Clifton ISD


Related Posts